News! & October Reading, Pt. 1

First of all, I want to warn you that the look of my blog may change around a bit over the next couple of weeks.  It’s something I’ve been meaning to do for a while, and then tonight I accidentally changed the theme, lost my old picture, and got too tired to fix things like menus.  Sorry for any ensuing chaos!

Also, I’m excited to say that I recently got a job writing reviews for Booklist!  This is thrilling  and I couldn’t be happier!  However, they want 6-8 reviews a month, which makes it hard for me to squeeze in an extra book for myself and the blog.  Squeeze I will, but I would like to apologize now for the inevitable return of my sporadic blogging style.  Ah, well.

I would be remiss if I didn’t share at least one thing with you, as I’m already typing, and that thing shall be Wattpad. For those of you who are not familiar, Wattpad.com is a website where people can publish stories, usually in serial form, and they are freely available to anyone with an internet connection.  It is self-described as, “…a new form of entertainment connecting readers and writers through storytelling….”  Joining as a member is not required but it lets you participate in the social aspects of the Wattpad community and save titles for future reading.  While the majority of the writers on the site are not “writers” by profession, several established authors have published here, most notibly Margaret Atwood.  It came as no surprise to find that Cory Doctorow is also active on Wattpad and has put up a number of his published novels, including Little Brother and Rapture of the Nerds. 

It was Margaret Atwood’s presence that grabbed my attention, so I looked her up first.  It was then that I saw the title of her novella, “The Happy Zombie Sunrise Home.”  I was not expecting that!  I’m not much of a zombie fan, to be honest, but I had to see what this was about.

Happy Zombie Sunrise Home cover

Atwood teams up with Naomi Alderman to tell the story of a teenage girl’s attempt to save her infected mother and reach her grandmother during a zombie outbreak. They alternate chapters with Alderman writing as Okie, the teenager, and Atwood as Clio, the grandmother.  There is more humor than horror to the story, pushing it towards parody, but the laughs are often the unfortunate sort that occur during a funeral. Think of the movie Shaun of the Dead and you’ll have a good idea of “Happy Zombie’s” style.  And perhaps this is the type of zombie tale I actually do like–one that is morbidly funny, with a little gore, and some action, too.  And pie.  There’s quite a lot of pie.

If you haven’t already begun your Halloween reading, this would be an excellent place to start.  I’ll leave you with my favorite line:

Festooned with rhubarb, I sallied forth.

 ~Clio, Chapter 9

2 thoughts on “News! & October Reading, Pt. 1

Leave a Reply

