Oh, hi.

Holy cow, I suppose it’s more than obvious my blogging assignment ended.  I am the worst when there is no deadline looming over my head.  Anyway, I thought I’d ramble at you a bit so that I can get at least one post in before I’ve missed January entirely.

First things first, last semester’s classes went well, but the youth services course left me fairly certain that I do not want to be a children’s librarian–too many activities and special programs.  I’ll just stick to the books, thank you very much.  Speaking of which, my review of A.G. Howard’s Splintered recently ran on Shelf Awareness.  Please check it out!  If you are into Alice stories, this is a good re-imagining of Carroll’s classic.  I have never been attached to the original Alice tales, but I love their imagery and how they have inspired so many other artists and writers.

Splintered cover

Also, the 2013 ALA children’s/YA awards are out!  And the winners are…

  • NEWBERY: The One and Only Ivan by Katherine Applegate
  • CALDECOTT: This is Not My Hat by Jon Klassen, who’s tumblr is a delight as well.
  • PRINTZ: In Darkness by Nick Lake

The One and Only Ivan by Katherine Applegate     This is Not My Hat by Jon Klassen     In Darkness by Nick Lake

My own pleasure reading has slowed considerably, as I am chipping away at the first Game of Thrones book while standing on windy train platforms.  This is not the right book to digest by nibbles.  I have modest goals in terms of reading for the new year.  I hope to finish Game of Thrones and also to read:

  1. Under Wildwood by Colin Meloy (Book 2 of the Wildwood Chronicles)
  2. Telegraph Avenue by Michael Chabon
  3. A Visit from the Goon Squad by Jennifer Egan
  4. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

Under Wildwood cover  Telegraph Avenue cover    A Visit from the Goon Squad cover  The Fault in Our Stars

 It will be obvious whether or not I manage to do this by the presence, or lack there of, of reviews here.

I’ve actually been spending more time than usual at the movies these days.  I can’t remember a time when I’ve seen so many in a year, nor when they have all been fantastic!  I think my favorites have been Seven Psychopaths, Argo, and Les Mis. I realize that I never gave a report on Cloud Atlas.  In short, I think they did an excellent job with the film and clearly “got” what the book was about, but the book is far and away the better of the two.  So much of the book’s power lies in the figuring out how all these disparate stories intertwine.  It takes a lot of patience and blind faith, but Mitchell hooks you and you stumble willingly behind him for hundreds of pages before things subtly begin sliding into place within the novel.  The film, on the other hand,  immediately delivers the book’s “message” and, to be frank, beats you over the head a bit with it.  It spends too brief a time with each story before flitting off to another with an obvious transition, lest the viewer forget that these narratives are connected.  The acting was decent, but the decision to “reincarnate” the actors in various roles was at times more distracting than it was thematically cohesive.  I am happy to report, however, that CGI was not out of control–my greatest fear.  So, yes, well done  Wachowskis, but do pick up a copy of the book.  It’s much better and will blow your mind  in a way the movie simply cannot.

Generally speaking, I’m looking forward to this year.  I think it will be one of big (and hopefully positive) change.  I’ll be turning 30 (eeps!), finishing my Masters Degree, and hopefully taking aerial arts classes, so that I can run off with the circus should my library career not take off.

I’ll be seeing you in February!

Leave a Reply

