Revisions In “Media”s Res

After reading Julie Bosman’s New York Times article about the demise of Barnes & Noble due largely to wholesale superstores and online retailers, I was forced to stop and reconsider the guidelines of my blog.  I decided that it is more about reviving and encouraging the act of reading than not buying books; and if a giant chain like Barnes & Noble can’t keep up with the competition, what hope do the independents have? I’m sure most people have heard how recently Amazon’s e-books outsold hardcover books for the first time ever–a truly upsetting statistic. Yet in this increasingly digital climate, it bears mentioning that Barnes & Noble produces its own e-reader, the Nook, and still couldn’t keep up with the competition.  Soon digital books will be the only facet of the store to remain, as small e-book shops are established in shopping centers in lieu of their larger, tangible ancestors. The article quotes analyst Michael Norris on this shift as saying that “‘They [consumers] might pick up a book when they’re buying hand sanitizer or Band-Aids, rather than actually seeking out a bookstore as a destination and then buying a book at that point.’” (http://www.nytimes.com/2010/08/04/business/media/04barnes.html)

Seeing this I’ve decided I’d rather support the book industry in my effort revitalize my reading life.  As a result, I am giving myself the green light to frequent libraries and bookstores on the condition that I read whatever it is I felt  so compelled to get before I can continue on to any other book in my collection.

I know you’re probably thinking, she talks a big game but she’s only read one book since starting this book blog, and you’d be making a fair point. I have not been reading with the ferocity I should and cannot scold others for a fault I, myself, possess.  The time has come, therefore, to truly make books a priority in my life.

Currently Reading: The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet by David Mitchell

2 thoughts on “Revisions In “Media”s Res

  1. I’m certainly glad that you’ve decided that you can support the book industry better by purchasing books periodically than by limiting yourself to your own shelves — not to mention that you will now be able to keep up with the latest and greatest. I will note, however, as both a physical and an e-book reader, that if your guidelines for this effort include “reviving and encouraging the act of reading,” that e-books seem to be in the forefront of actually doing that.

    • You make a good point regarding e-books as developments that encourage reading, and because of this I can never completely decry their existence. I personally don’t like them but this does not make them evil. Much in the way The DaVinci Code became a worldwide bestseller, I may not like what people are reading but I do love the idea that people still are reading. Hopefully enough human e-readers will adopt your habits and not abandon traditional books entirely, but support writing in many forms; I suppose the same could be said of me, but in reverse. However, I will need some powerful convincing.

Leave a Reply

